avatar for Chris Holden

Chris Holden

University of New Mexico
Associate Professor
University of New Mexico
Christopher Holden is an Associate Professor at the Honors College of the University of New Mexico. His PhD is in number theory, but his current research focuses on place based game design for learning. He has been doing this since 2006, originally using MIT’s Outdoor AR Engine. He was the first outside user of ARIS; in 2009 he and Julie Sykes produced and used Mentira, a murder mystery for Spanish language students at UNM. Shortly thereafter, he joined the ARIS design team, and has been a very visible member of the community. He has probably made more ARIS experiences (games, stories, field research tools, etc.) than anyone else as he continues to investigate the educational possibilities of this new medium. Chris teaches classes involving mobile game design, and directs the Local Games Lab ABQ, a fancy name for supporting and collaborating with unfunded faculty, students, and community members to make games and other interactive experiences to develop new forms of meaning within their local natural, cultural, and educational environments.

My Speakers Sessions

Tuesday, June 10

8:30am CDT

Wednesday, June 11

5:00pm CDT

Posters Session & Reception Great HallJung-Hyun Ahn • Dylan Arena • Audrey Aronowsky • Sara Atienza • Ryan Baker • Salvador Barrera • Rex Beaber • Christine Bediones • Jennifer Beecker • Matthew Berland • David Beyea • James Wyman Brantley • Nick Carcioppolo • Pantiphar Chantes • Ahram Choi • Mike Christel • Sophia Colantonio • Seth Corrigan • Benjamin DeVane • Michael Donhost • Chad Dorsey • Kelly East • Clay Ewing • David Gagnon • Hannah Rox Gerber • Kelly Giles • Jen Groff • Yichao Guo • Martha Han • David Hatfield • Nick Heidl • Chris Holden • Remi Holden • Jeffrey Brandon Holmes • Adam Hott • Maria Hwang • G. Tanner Jackson • Anya Johnson • Barbara Z. Johnson • Yvonne Kao • Rafael Kern • Eric Keylor • Jenny Kim • Beth King • Dr. Neil Lamb • Katharina Lang • Brian LaPlant • Joey Lee • Xiuyuan Li • Breanne Litts • Solomon Liu • Robert Lockhart • Trudi Lord • Christian de Luna • John Martin • Eduard Matamoros • Gianna May • Betsy McCarthy • Seth McGee • Kevin Miklasz • Justin Mouller • Geoffrey D. Munro • Dodie Niemeyer • Maria Elena Oliveri • Salvatore Papa • Kylie A Peppler • Judy Perry • Stephanie Pfirman • Iulian Radu • Dennis Ramirez • Frieda Reichsman • Naomi Rockler-Gladen • Mark Santolucito • Katerina Schenke • Bob De Schutter • Sean Seyler • Yi Song • Fidel Sosa • Jesse Sparks • Kurt Squire • Chris Standerford • Jessica A. Stansbury • Shonte Stephenson • Cody Steward • Peter Stidwill • Lisa Stump • Woonhee Sung • Matthew Taylor • Michelle Tiu • Tom Toynton • Cathy Tran • Dr. Kelly M Tran • Lien Tran • Chris Vicari • Janis Watson • Jason Wu • Simeng Yang • Diego Zapata-Rivera
Thursday, June 12

2:30pm CDT